xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-Havoc and grief

On my way to school this morning, i prayed my car would make it. On the freeway, as I reached for the radio, I stalled. And in disbelief, I heard what was happening in New York and Washington. I froze, not knowing whether to turn my car off or to sit there, in the stream of rushing traffic, listening in shock. Hearing, but not comprehending, the magnitude of the loss.

At school, I danced and sandg with the kids in the kindergarten class. I felt numb and surreal, a movie loop playing over and over in my mind.

Over the afternoon, I tried to settle things with my office and complete a report I had left incomplete yesterday, expecting to sit down without any troubles today and finish it. Instead, coming in, with everyone hushed and frightened, having to work anyway and hating the normalcy of the routine.

I wanted to call my friends and hug them, to tell them that I was alright with the world. That I would pull whatever we needed to together to help. Blood, blankets, food...prayers and words of hope...in this seemingly hopeless day.

12:37 a.m. - 9/12/2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek