xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Remembering

Here the sun is beginning to rise on our world--it is about 7:30 in the morning--a chilly, snowy day that is still hoverng in the blueness of a winter dawn.

Here, I am sitting with my daughter nuzzling at my breast and cooing contentedly--she in a sweet pink hooded pajama "sack" and me in feety pajamas that keep my toes warm.

Here we luxuriate in the early morning calm and the joy of having the quiet of the day all to ourselves--the gentleness of the lights, the lull of the music, the thrum of the heater.

Here I remember all who have made it possible for me to enjoy all this. To the men and women sho have given of themselves to calm the frenzy of our sometimes harsh realities, to settle the oft-angst ridden lives that rustle the waters and rock the oceans of change.

I remember you, perhaps not as you were--young, proud, head-strong, afraid--but as you have become--courageous, silent, honoured and free.

Thanks be to you.

1:02 a.m. - 11/11/2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek