xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Wonder of Water

It was raining when I drove home from school yesterday. Along the stretch of highway, rain spattered against my windshield so hard I thought it would crack under the pressure, swirling droplets fairly bouncing off the hood and splashing up against the glass. It rained so hard in places as I drove through the heart of the raincloud I could hardly make out the road. It was exciting, exhilerating and frightening. The majesty of water, giver of life and sustainer of this frail and formidable world is nothing to scoff at and, though I was afraid that I would not be able to control Franklin when the puddles crept up over the gutters, I felt so alive in its midst.

A friend of mine flew off to Winnipeg yesterday, a degree bearing certifiable meterologist. Yup, a weather geek. Throughout our friendship I would humour him by listening to his silly weather reports and storm forecasts, but I never truly understand why he enjoyed the weather so very much. As I drove away from the rain and the sun shone deeply and brightly in the early evening dip of the planetary alignment, I suddenly could see him nod and smilein my mind and I KNEW how he felt. I could breathe the intoxication of the power and be humbled. I was at one with the world and, glory be, it felt right as...well, rain.

12:26 a.m. - 6/8/2001

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek