xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Babies, Worrying and the Hand of Fate

My Julia is doing 100% better. I am so relieved that it is not me, is not anything I'd given her, that she isn't the 1 in 100 seriously ill babies and is not threatened by anything more serious than a silly intestinal virus. And now that too seems to have come to an end.

For awhile there I was worried. Perhaps more than I needed to be, more than was rational. But then again, arent the worse things the things that hit you on some idle Tuesday just as you are going along thinking that things really havent been that bad? I am a big believer in Fate, that things happen along a pre-destined path, that there is little we can do to prepare for many of life's inevitable surprises. Nevertheless I also believe that we can control some choices along the way. Is this contradictary? As Walt Whitman says, "Very well, it is contradictary, I am large and contain multiples" It is difficult to explain the big picture to others, but I see it, clear as day, in my own head. And perhaps, that is all that matters in the end.

6:23 p.m. - 2003-08-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek