xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Dark Side

So this is the dark side. I know, I know. It is damn bright and holy god how can you stand to read it without sunglasses? But hey, wake up, this is a whole new life for me: one in which I do things despite the protests of others, one that gives a rat's ass what others want from my private time and where I do things that may have no rhyme or reason save one important thing: I felt like it. So there. I am a bitch. Meh.

Welcome to new readers! LOL Hope you stick around.

I spent the day in the University ER. The waiting room was overflowing with people in wheelchairs, propped feet, sad grimaces. It was unreal. Some of them had been waiting for seven or eight hours to even be seen, however preliminarily, by a doctor. While fatigue overshadowed their eyes and pain slouched in their chairs they all appeared closer to death than life. It wasn't a happy zone. Luckily, though we were there for Julia (and had only 5 pediatric patients ahead of her) rather than for me (who would have had 38 adult patients ahead of me). She had been ill for about three days, leaking all sorts of goodies out of all sorts of orfices. I know, appetizing, isn't it? The most distressing thing about her propensity to leak everywhere (oh unhappy carpet) isn't the sheer volume of it, it is the fact that it happens to coincide almost perfectly with our breastfeeding sessions. I nurse her, she explodes. I feed her other things she doesn't. I go back to nursing, she explodes. Sigh. Strange but true. It's hard not to take it personally.

But we emerge, four hours later, not any wiser, not any more drugged up, not any more leak-proof. In fact, they also tell me that I am not to blame. That I should continue to nurse her, despite the eerie coincidences. And so we come home, the nurse-shit-leak cycle spinning onwards. Even better, we get to stay home since the hospital has effectively banned her from daycare so she doesnt pose a public health hazard. Much delight. My child is a public health nuisance. I am everlastingly proud.

10:09 p.m. - 2003-08-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek