xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Writing Insanity

So I recently was reminded of NaNoWriMo when I was was stumbling around someone else's blog and it set those little gears in my head spinning.

I am quite torn between not having a clue what I would squeak into 50,000 words and not having time enough to shower leisurely much less sit down and type 50,000 words. I sleep little enough as it is these days. And yet... And yet...There's something nagging at me from the dark corners of my mind where sanity clearly does not prevail. And I want to come up with something, a plot line, an idea, a spark of "what if"...

I brought up the subject casually with my hubby, hoping to see what the sane response to the idea of doing NaNo is and predictably, got an incredulous look and a scoffing "Well, you're not going to do it , are you??" I looked away, trying to hide that crazed look of insanity that WriMo's often have plastered on. When pressed for an answer, I murmered something and changed the subject.

I've tried not to think about it. But somehow, I am finding myself at writing websites and characterization worksheets. I log on and find ten new bookmarks for writing forums and contest entry pages and wonder briefly how they got there. And as October 1st looms closer, I find that I am trying to cram in the information on last year's NaNo boards before they are deleted forever.

Yes, I'll admit, I am becoming drawn in and maybe I will succumb to the inevitability of it. But not yet.

8:53 p.m. - 2004-08-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek