xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eating

So Elena has started branching out in her culinary experiences. We tried cereal (a big hit becuase it wasnt just watery milk) and then we moved onto the bigger world of solid foods.

Now you have to understand that the term "solid food" is sort of a misnomer becuase in the first stages of eating, you know, when you havent any teeth and your tongue has an annoying habit of pushing things out of your mouth before you can swallow it, things arent really too solid. "Mush" is a popular, though somewhat revolting term, and sometimes you can be all French and call it "puree" but when it comes down to it, its just a squishy, pasty mess.

She, like Julia, began with peas. It is advised to start with the grossstuff other wise, once they get a whiff of the good stuff, there's no going back. And hey since Julia will take a stalk of broccoli these days over...most things, including lemon meringue pie, I figure we might be OK in the food teaching department. Well, we *were* good anyway, but more on that later.

Elena doesnt mind peas. She doesnt love it but she will eat it. And eat it and eat it. And then cry when you take the spoon out of her mouth to refill it and cry when the bowl of peas is done.

She has also tried applesauce. Now this is the good stuff, baby. She cries when I hold it up and gives me a "why are you holding it up and not opening it and shovelling it into me, woman?" look. Except today when I took it away from her because I'd decided that she had enough (and I am the MOM so I can make decisions like that) she just gave me a wounded look before launching in to a full oral assault. I swear she's never screamed so loud. But since she calmed down once she had some milk, I figured it was OK.

Now it hasnt been very long since Julia finally gave up on her nightly jar of pureed sweet potatoes. Even when she would eat real people food all day and not seem like she needed to have anymore that day, she would still ask to have "smeet tatoes peese" and with a melt your heart smile I'd never resist. Anyway, now that baby food has begun to reappear on my grocery shopping list, she has had a renewed interest in "Awayna's num nums." I sometimes give her bites of cereal and peas, neither of which she likes anymore and is satisfied with a tiny taste, just so she knows she's not missing out on double chocolate mousse or something. And since she has been "tricked" into opening her mouth for a big bite of slimy pea mush, she now tries things by sticking the tip of her tongue out and licking the barest hint off the spoon's edge.

So tonight when I left the half eaten jar of applesauce on the table, I didnt think that she would try to go and eat it. I saw her climb up on the chair, and stick her tongue out for the taste test. And then in the time it took for me to cross the room, she had scarfed the rest of it down. It was that good. Half way through licking the jar clean, she remembered that it belonged to her baby sister, picked up the spoon again, looked around "Awayna eating?" and got down from the chair to try to mash it into Elena's sleeping face.

I, being the good mom that I am, took pictures of her instead of taking it all away. Hey with her eating habits these days, I am just glad she wants to eat *somthing*. And Elena just kept on sleeping.

7:17 p.m. - 2004-11-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek