xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Teachers on Strike

Next week begins the advent of a teacher's strike long in the works and sadly unsurpassed in Alberta history. Approximately 16000 teachers have voted in favour of job action that will close school districts and wreak havoc on the lives of many untold numbers of families.

It does not make me happy, but I know that for the betterment of my profession, we must do things to raise the awarenesses of the public. Education is a cornerstone of all we build our lives upon and we must not let things fail now.

That said, I am glad that I had the foresight to take the teacher's assistant position this year over a "regular" (hence striking) teaching post. I shall be able to pay for rent this month and that makes me feel better.

The kids walked about anxious and shell-shocked, unwilling to acknowledge the reality of the strike looming over them. My kindies seemed not to understand the implications, it will hit them on Tuesday morning when it will become clear that it is not simply a long weekend off from school. Sigh. It will be hell when they return to the routine of school.

It will be hard for me to go to school knowing that the union, my collegues and my profession all stand on hold til the government is able to admit that education IS a worthy investment, but life's realities take precedence and I know I show solidarity in my heart.

12:44 a.m. - 2/2/2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek