xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crying It Out: Day 1

Day 1

My girl is quiet now. She'd been sobbing in her crib for about 15 minutes, which was much less time than I had anticipated being tortured. I have a burning desire to run to her and check on her but I resist and will stay here and ramble instead, lucky you.

We have been discussing this sleep training method for awhile and though it is SO incredibly hard to listen to yur baby cry and not heed your instinct to comfort her immediately, we know that it is time.

She is 13 months old and is smart as a whip (how smart whips are, I can't say for certain. Loads, I hope.) No seriously, she knows what she wants (breastmilk 24/7) and knows what coy glances, whiny cries and patting hands will get her there. Until now. I am laying down the law. Its not that I don't want to nurse her, I just don't want it to be on her terms all the time. And getting a full night's sleep would be delightful too.

So here e are, crying it out. We have formulated a bedtime routine. It looks like this:

*Change diaper and put on bedtime clothes

*Eat bedtme snack (fruit, milk and cereal)

*Read bedtime stories in rocking chair in her room

*Snuggle (with only nightlight on) in rocking chair listening to "Sleepy Julia" compilation CD [Maybe nurse a bit, but stop while still awake]

*Put in crib with good night kiss

*Leave

We did it just now and since I can't hear her anymore, I can only surmise she is sound asleep. Now we will see how she is at 3am when she will undoubtably awaken and expect to be nursed and brought into our room.

Slowly, we will bring her around to the idea that night is for sleep ing and there is no more nummies to be had.

While I am a bit sad our bed-sharing days are coming to an end, I will be glad to reclaim my relationship with my husband.

And so begins the next chapter of this motherhood adventure...

10:50 p.m. - 2003-08-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek