xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Decision

I don't know what to call it, maybe it's caving, maybe it's giving in, maybe it's not trying hard enough to leave. Whatever you call it, I have decided that I am going to return to the Mixed Chorus.

It is a celebration year-60 years of illustrious choral music on U of A's campus. It also happens to be a kick-ass year of music. I was flipping through the binder, familiar black binding slipping through my fingers, the shuffle of pages, the bars of music that entrench themselves into my head as they leap off the page.

And I came to the conclusion that the reasons that I am not going back: a worry that the music will be too familiar, the old "you've been in to long" rant from other Alumni, a niggling fear that I don't know how hubby will handle Julia if she gets really out of control (when in doubt, "she's hungry" is a good rule of thumb) are all ridiculous reasons to deprive myself of the twice-weekly time away from Julia, of the social aspect of choir, of the sheer unadulterated joy of singing.

So there it is. I don't care what the others will say about my going back. I don't care that this will be my fifth year (doesn't sound that bad in hindsight) in Choir, I am excited about the music, I am thrilled that J will be the assistant conductor, I am mad with delight that Sarah won't be the sectional leader so we can giggle madly in the back together.

This feels like the right decision and for once, I am not going to ask for anyone's opinion before going back. I am just going to do it.

Here we go, back into the fray!

7:33 p.m. - 2003-09-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek