xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Three Claps and a Lamb

I hear golf claps. Polite. Smattering. You see, I don't know exactly how it happened. I was about 100 words out of 2450 for the writing competition I entered. I was approaching the deadline for submittal by minutes and seconds. I was writing like a freaking maniac and I thought I had it set. I sent it and then realized I forgot the title. Shit! I was hooped! But, if it was only over a title, I guess it was great that I got the word count right. Well, I didn't. As it turned out, I was over. Strangely ironic, really. So I got a friendly "sorry we have to disqualify you" email today. It didn't shock me, I wasn't terribly put out and it didn't feel like it was the end of the world. They mentioned some forums where I could post my entry, if I wanted some feedback and polish advice. I might take them up on it. I can even post my story here now, having been released from my 90 day publication restriction. If I thought anyone who hasn't already read it might be interested, well, they could email me and I might post it then. For now, though, I think I shall leave it to languish in my hard drive for a bit. Maybe the urge to polish it will come later. For now, I am still needing to scratch the writing itch. I may feel terribly mediocre and extremely unprofessional, but I like it and it gives me some escape from this life that binds me to the here and now. And so it goes...

10:44 p.m. - 2003-09-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek