xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Northern Harmony

Northern Harmony was really exceptional this year! Apocalypse Kow opened the show and though it may have seemed to them to be daunting, I think they were great! They warmed the crowd, got things going on a strong note and the banter between members was incredible. They have improved an amazing amount on mics! Despite Julia's propensity to want to wander around during the show, I had a great time. She got to meet Kermit the Frog and played the beep game with nearly everyone. While I enjoyed many of the other groups, technically, there were only a few that had really engaging stage presence: Apocalypse Kow (yes, I happen to be a huge groupie nerd, but I think that I can be objective about it:P) Sven Blvd (who I agree with Sarah that they really are not in the amateur league of acapella groups any longer and shouldn't really compete in these competitions anymore, like the Heebee Jeebeez) and the ChickaDivas (who won first place in the competition).

Afterwards we all went to Red Robin's where I had a fantastic conversation with JM and Julia had a blast with Dev. Who knew that baskets would be the best toy ever? It was really quite obscene how cute they both were and I think that they bonded quite well in their mutual silliness. I am looking forward to the pictures that Sarah took!

Speaking of pictures, I took a really fabulous one of Julia in the orange outfit Amanda gave to her for her birthday. Hopefully I will have posted it before too long on her site site. The dress is WAY too long but the hat is slightly too small (big noggin' kid). Oh well, she is super-cute no matter what she wears (not that I am biased or anything).

So, she charmed everyone in sight and amazed even me with her non-cranky stamina, since we didnt get home to bed 'til about 1:30am.

It was a fabulous night of music, fun, and good company and worth every penny.

7:59 p.m. - 2003-09-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek