xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pink Eye Joy

So what do you do when your kid has pussing pink eye oozing from not one but BOTH eyes? Well, if you were me, you'd take the day off (partially relieved to have some time to convalece from back pain and general weariness) sleep a whole lot, wash your hands obsessively so the itching in your own eye does not get pus-encrusted and gross, update all your websites (all three of them, that is), return some e-mails, and take in an episode or two of Trading Spaces. All in all, feel quite productive, despite not going to either of your two jobs and doing zero amount of housework.

I have to note here that pink eye is possibly the yuckiest thing--what with gluing Julia's eyes shut in her sleep so she looks like a puffy-eyed freak of nature in the morning. I know it sounds like I had a pretty easy day, but between the hacking, de-crusting of eyes on a screaming squirming toddler and the waterfall of milk-y vomit early in the morning, I was pretty wiped.

Last night, Sarah went above and beyond the call of duty as a friend when she came with me and Julia to the emergency room. I have to say that it was really a complete waste of time for what we came out of there knowing. She has a viral infection. There isnt anything to do but wipe her eyes with a warm washcloth every 6 hours. Whee. I waited 2 and a half hours for that? Jeez. Anyway. I am glad we went rather than worry about it all night.

And then, joy of joys, when we finally stumble home at 1:30am, Julia decides thats she needs to wake up every hour to shriek and carry on. The only thing that really saved my sanity was that she slept from 8:30 to noon in her own crib and without bugging me so I could sleep too.

But now she is doing much better, is really quite chipper and has gotten her enormous appetite back. As long as she sleeps through the night tonight, we'll be back on track. Whew.

9:47 p.m. - 2003-09-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek