xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Connecting

I am still home with my oozing monkey (though much less oozing now) and am in the process of trying to revive my poor laptop to its original glory (Ahem, Windows 95. Whee!) with the purchase of an external CD ROM to replace the CD ROM that came with it and subsequently died. I am excited to have found one exactly like the old one, only still new in its packaging, through the Bargin Finder. I contacted the guy selling it by email and we have had a back and forth emailing frenzy all day, first with price haggling (I got him down to $40) then with deciding when and where to meet. It is odd but every now and again, in the sterile conversations that strangers tend to have, with the safe anonymity of email we sometimes let other personal details slip out. And without really intending it to happen, I get a glimpse into the life of this other person. It's enough to set this writing mind churning.

And having that constant contact with one person all day has given me some insight into how I have been in contact with other people lately. It's a bit odd that Gwyn and I were thinking alng the same lines. I, too, have been feeling a bit isolated from my friends. I have been in a bit of an antisocial loop and have not seen really anyone except Sarah outside of choir. I did go out to Northern Harmony and then out with the gang afterwards to Red Robin's and it was wonderful. So wonderful that I wondered why I didnt do it more often. Cost aside, I think that somehow I feel a bit lazy--too much to call, plan something or simply get up the energy to do something other than laze around the TV with Sarah. It's a tough cycle to break! Nevertheless, with NanNo right around the corner, work picking up at a phenomenal rate, wanting to see people and keep up my relationships and home, I think that I have to let some people call me. Not that I dont want to get together, I just have too much on my plate to try to pull things together. And its hard because I used to plan so many things and people have perhaps not noticed that I have stopped making that effort. I am always so grateful to people like K who plan clothing exchanges and other such girl's nights that have a variety of people that we normally dont see on a regular basis. I will resume my Tea and Talks at my place now that things are somewhat settled in, even though last time it turned into a Dan visit every week. At least I got a regular time to visit with Dan. Spperhaps things arent perfect and hopefully we will get our shit together and connect with our friends on a regular basis. But one thing at a time, right?

2:47 p.m. - 2003-10-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek