xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Winter

So its winter. Well, its not really winter (who ever decided that the official start of winter was really the 21st od December anyway? Old Man winter is always here long before then) but it is freaking disgusting. The snow started around lunch time and hasnt really let up. It melted really fast at first and then, before I knew it, it had begun to accumulate, flake upon flake, shiver upon shiver.

I wanted to burrow deep into the covers of my bed witha mug of hot cocoa and a good book. I wanted a blazing fire with marshmallows and someone rubbing the frost out of my toes. I wanted to trace pictures in the fog of the windows and not worry about having to go out and scrape it off to actually go somewhere. I wanted to scream with delight at how pretty it was and then rail at how irritating the weather god had decided to snow THREE freaking days before Halloween. Honestly, there's got to be a comedian out there running the show.

I have never driven a car with anti-lock brakes and I am learning all the little buttons I need to push to get my little Gecko working in the chill of the season. On top of it all, I realized (too late in the snowy day) that I dont have a snow brush in the car at all. I managed to scrounge an ice scraper but it has proven pretty pitiful to push snow off my car with. I may as well resort to using my sleeve.

On more thing that was never considered in time to deal with the onslaught of sleet that has blanketed us: I now live in a house. Oh yeah, the shovelling is now out responsibility. Crap. No snow brush? No shovel? Yeah, good luck with clearing the walk there hey? *sigh* I guess its a trip to good old Canadian Tire for us.

Winter. Huzzah. Here's your official Edmonton welcome. Hope you werent expecting a party.

10:40 p.m. - 2003-10-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek