xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Northern Lights

I can't believe that it is Friday tommorow. I cant believe that it is the end of the month. I cant believe I will have my own classroom next week. I cant belive it is all happening right during NaNoWriMo!!! Ahhh! Whew, now that I have all of that out of my system, we can return to our regularly scheduled programs.

As I was driving home from the newly re-decorated living room of the Party House (which, incidently, I LOVE so much--feels more spacious and organized!) I happened to glance up into the sky. A funny thing in winter, how the horizon takes on the reflected galre of the city lights and the sun somewhere down yonder, casting a pinkish tint of light around the lower half of the sky. I want to say that it hums with the light but it doesnt make sense except in my head. Hmm. Exactly right. Anyway, I digress, the sky was brilliant with northern lights. It was such a glorious sight.

Here in Edmonton we do not get to see the Aurora very often and when we do get the chance it is freaking cold because it is the dead of night in the midst of winter and we only get to see green in the northern lights. I hear that in Ft. Mac, the northern lights are fantastically colourful-pinks and blues and purples. Well, the thing that had captured my attention was the ripple of pink in the shimmer of the lights. As they danced in the sky, traces of pink edged the common (but still beautiful) green. When I got home I hurried my sleeping monkey into bed, jerked my hubby from the warmth of his computer chair and out into the cold night air. We caught the last little bit of lights just as they descended into the city lights and it was just a nice moment. Ahh, mushy warm fuzzies in the chill of the wind.

Ok. I am done now. I dont want to short out the keyboard.

11:01 p.m. - 2003-10-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek