xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ack, Ack, Ack

It may well have been the scariest moment of my life yesterday. Julia had been sick--feverish and coughing a strange barking cough. Her nose had started running a bit and she was generally listless and tired. I took her to see the doctor (a second rate one who didnt bother to take her temperature or ask about how her cough was) who diagnosed her from across the room as having an ear infection (seriously she touched Julia maybe three times) and sent us on our merry way. I picked up her antibiotics and, as she had fallen asleep in her seat, I decided to run a few errands. I had just come out of a store (where she slept nicely on my shoulder until we readhed the til and then chippered up to say "fish!" at the display by the til.) Always a sucker, I bought her fish and got back in the car. We were on the road not even two minutes and she was merrily chatting to her new fish "mwah! kiss fish! mwah!" when it happened.

She had a seizure. I glanced into the rear-view mirror to see her suddenly rigid, conbulsing, eyes rolling and foaming at the mouth. I pulled over to the side of the road and tried to talk her through it trying not to sound TERRIBLY HYSTERICAL. It lasted a full minute and then she slumped over, unconcious and limp. I drove like a maniac to the emergency room. Thank GOD I was only about 3 blocks from the Royal Alex. I pulled into the ambulance bay, left my car with a security lady and ran in. She was rushed through triage and brought into a trauma room.

They stripped her down and took her temperature. It was a crazy 41 degrees C. They hooked her up to the monitors, determined that she needed oxygen and then tried to rouse her. When we couldnt wake her after about 15 minutes, they put in an IV, took some blood and some urine to run tests. They set up a chest x-ray to see what was causing her laboured breathing and gave her some drugs to bring down her temperature. I was shaking so hard, they sent me out of the room for a bit. Dwayne arrived and we settled into the slow waiting pattern of emergency room visits. She drowsed on and off, sometimes finally falling asleep and then having to be woken up by a nurse who wanted to poke and prod her. My poor baby was just having a terrible night.

The prognosis was febrile seizure, occured because of extreme fever. The fever, in turn, likely brought on by the penumonia they found in her lungs. Which also, coincidently, also caused her ear infection.

We got home and Julia was SO thrilled to be able to use her left hand again (it had been bound to a gauze board to keep it in place with her IV). Soon enough though we all fell into bed, sleeping fifully and waking in shuddering starts and coughing wheezes. And today? More of the same. Except no seizures and no hospitals. Hurray for wonderful small details. Sigh.

6:25 p.m. - 2003-11-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek