xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Griping

There is something to be said about liking where you work. And so far, thugh I dont mind the kids and I dont really mind the location, and I rather like my room all laid out the way I want it to be, I don't like the director. Which makes everything else rather null. See, she isnt a happy person and she doesn't often take other people to a happy place either. As near as I can tell she is a bitter and older woman who is still living at home. She has no prospects for dating and finds the idea of people around her a bit repulsive. How she landed in this particular job is a bit beyond me.

I guess she has some technical knowhow. She handles kids alright I suppose. They seem a bit afraid of her which I suppose is fine if you are a director. She has moments of joviality but it faded as quickly as it comes and always rings a bit hollow.

She has yet to say a nice thing to me, either about the things I do in my class, the way the kids are behaving, or any other relevant or irrelevant thing. She never asks how I am, never wonders if my child is feeling better, never cares that I am feeling ill. If I tell her I am not well, she shrugs like it is a annoyance that I have fabricated to piss her off and any doctor's appointments we have must clearly be playing hooky from work.

Today she stopped in to tell me that she didn't like the way i had arranged my sand and water tables and that maybe if I had them differently, the boys wouldnt get so rambunctious and they would stop playing Ninja Turtle-Lord of the Rings-Samurai Swords games and settle down like little angels. Oh yeah. Sure lady. Whatever you say.

If I could leave her snarkiness behind I would be much happier with my job, but seeing her frowning face the first thing as I walk through the door in the morning and the last thing I see at nights, well, its enough to put anyone off their dinner.

The fact that she was bragging, bragging mind you that she takes after her "grumpy old grandma" really clinched it for me. Like Sarah said, "The hell? Why would you want to be like that?" The answer, a mystery to be sure.

OK, I am done griping now. Honest. This afternoon she is forcing us to take a walk in the snowy cold weather so the place isn't as noisy and the kids get to scream outside. Just what I wanted to do with my day. Take fourteen screaming kids walking around the neighbourhood whining about the cold and the snow. Great.

1:32 p.m. - 2003-12-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek