xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Homeowners

So, today, we signed the papers that make us the proud owners of a new townhouse.

I have to say it all sounds very grown-up and all to be home owners and havea mortgage and all of that, but it wont really be real to me until I get teh keys in my hand and get to splash whatever colour paint on the walls that I choose. Oh, and I move out of this retched place that is driving both me and hubby to no end of madness. Not only do we worry now about downstairs lady banging on the floor, but we also have to contend with the big fish, teh landlord, who is being entirely unreasonable and the biggest jerk this side of hell.

We had agreed that it was for teh best that we were to move out and all of that after our blow-up fight with downstairs hag. No one was happy, the place isnt worth this much aggravation and he should want happy tenants, right? Well, when we put our verbal agreement in writing, he called back and told us he was reconsidering what he'd said and that we would have to pay the penalty for breaking the lease (not really chump change at $1600), give him 60 days notice AND (this is the kicker) ALSO pay rent UNTIL HE FOUND NEW TENANTS. Well, he had already said he hated looking for tenants, for all I know he would never ever bother to even look if we were paying his merry way. So we took it up with the landlord & tenant board and they told us he couildnt do that. We could EITHER pay the penalty (which is the highest they had EVER seen asked--I guess $200-300 is norm) OR give 60 days notice and pay until he found a tenant. BUT that he is obligated BY LAW to begin looking for tenants as soon as he recieved our notice. Gah.

So I think that we would probably suck it up and just pay him out so we dont ever have to hear from him again and just go onto our new less-stressful life in the townhouse where I wouldnt have to stop Julia from carrying around toys, or worrying that she is walking too loudly or crying too much. I wouldnt have to tiptoe around after 7pm and maybe I wouldnt get this little knot in my stomach everytime I think that she might construe something as being "too noisy" and start to pound on my floor. Yeah, I can't wait for the end of February.

Eek, I cant believe that we are homeowners! Ack! Ack! Whee!

11:14 p.m. - 2004-01-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek