xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lawyer Talk

So we went to the lawyer and came out with fewer answers and more questions.

He thought we should just pay til the end of Feb (when we told him we were moving out) and then just leave and let the landlord chase us to small claims court if he really wanted to get a penalty for breaking our lease and such. Now, needless to say, hubby and I are not exactly thrilled by the idea of being slapped with a lawsuit anywhere from the end of February 2004 til the end of February 2006. We left totally irritated by this wishywashy lawyer who wouldnt say either way whether or not the Landlord/Tenant Act was on our side and whether or not we had a leg to stand on should things get to court at all. He seemed to think that it was a matter of opinion on both sides because the lease is so terribly written and vague. Which I would think would work in our favor and that the judge wouldnt even want to waste his time trying to muddle through the wording that no one else seems to understand. But that's my opinion.

Still now that I have calmed down, somewhat, my headache has diminished to a dull roar and I have had some baconcand eggs, I think that we should take him up on his advice. After all, as much hassle as small claims court might be, perhaps it wouldnt be as much as $1600 that the penalty is. And especially if the court finds in our favour. Sigh.

I think I should find my bed and maybe things will look better in perspective.

11:03 p.m. - 2004-01-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek