xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Moving Frenzy

So there are only 12 days left til we move.

Eep! Now that I see the number in front of me it all seems a bit closer and scarier than before. I still have tons to do, it doesnt really look like we are ready to move in 12 days and I think we'll have some frantic moments between now and then--though I cant decide whether or not I'd want them to be closer to now or closer to then.

People have been asking me if I am excited about moving, about living in a place that we own and have no one to answer to. And the truth is it all feels so surreal at this point. I only kind of remember the exact details of the place. I rememeber the room layout pretty well and I know in my head what appliances are there and such, but I cant remember the little things like what the fireplace mantel looks like, and the exact colour of the carpets. Part of me is apprehensive too about being left on our own. That is, if something breaks, there isnt anyone who will come over to fix it unless we pay them to and we cant complain to anyone if, say, a window breaks. After what feels like a lifetime of having a landlord take care of minor annoyances (like if the fridge stops working or the hot water tank begins making a funny noise) being left to our own devices is more than a bit daunting. Part of the whole growing up business, I suppose.

I have shifted over our house insurance and we are on our way to choosing a wall colour for our bedroom (a slower, more arduous process than it really ought to be, perhaps). We have yet to decide on being a host family to an international student and I am still applying to small jobs that take little time and are of short manageable duration. There is less pressure than I thought that there might be to find work again, and I suppose the whole dizziness thing has come into play a lot more than I expected.

So onwards, I have to pack up some more books and probably some DVDs. I expect this weekend will have more showings of the house. Oh well.

5:45 p.m. - 2004-02-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek