xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Obstetrician

So we had our appointment with the obstetrician (the same one who delivered Julia) to figure out what the deal was with this next birth.

She examined me and told me that I would have just as good a chance at having a natural birth despite having some difficulties healing the c-section incision. Apparently they might have sewn a nerve, but that the problem appears to be only ont he surface and not on the uterus itself. Which means that I would be OK to push on it in labour.

BUT, there are risks that go exponentially higher if induction has to take place because of the nature of the induction methods and the propensity to speed up the dialtion process. The risk of uterine rupture (I shudder as I write that) is about 20% and that goes up to 70% with induction intervention (in some cases, not all, but why take chances). So I think that our best option is the one she presented to us. We are going to schedule a c-section for 5-6 days after my due date (~July 25th for those of you keeping track) and allow my body the chance to go into labour naturally and try to have a natural birth, all the while keeping an eye on the baby's responses to labour (decreasing heartrate being one subtle indicator of possible uterine rupture). And then, if it hasnt happened by Aug. 1st-ish then we would proceed with a scheduled c-section like I had with Julia.

Whew. More than you ever wanted to know about that, I'm sure. We are going to leave it be until about June when I go back for another consultation and by then we might have a better idea of how big the baby will be, how much amniotic fluid there is (a problem last time) and the stress level of the mother regarding the idea of natural birth. **Note: To me, antural birth does not entail having no drugs. I heartily endorse epidurals and suffered no ill effects from the one I got with Julia. So I would, being the wuss I am, have drugs the minute I felt too overwhelmed with pain. Why suffer, say I.**

So there it is, for now. Huh. I think I am going to lie down now.

10:03 a.m. - 2004-02-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek