xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Struggling

I had been meaning to sit down and say how glad I am that my girl has finally gotten her impish smile back, how she can now exclaim things and people to be "sil-ly!" and "oh ho! funny!" while giggling madly.

But then she began to display the sympotoms of her Urinary tract Infection again and now we are back to clingy, whiny and somewhat warmer than usual. I am a bit more vigilant about medicating her against the sudden possibilities of fever and its ill effects on her system. What I don't need more than anything else right now is another seizure.

We are going away this weekend to sing in Fort Mac, a mini tour of sorts, and although it will be nice for Julia to get to see her grandparents again, i am not really looking forward to the trip. Long hours in a car with a whiny sick toddler, smoky in-laws and indeterminable hours of watching Dwayne fix whatever happens to be wrong with their computers. Of course, I do get to sing once more and that might make the trip worth it.

Any other time I might just say that we should forget it, that it simply isn't worth the aggravation of going all that way for a weekend trip. But the fact is, we can't afford not to go. Dwayne will get paid to fix the computers and we just found out today that we have to have major work done on our brakes and replace some worn hoses in our car. And, since it is our only vehicle, it isn't as though the repairs aren't an absolute necessity. Which sucks because we still haven't got a working washing machine and there is some contention about who will pay for a replacement. (It was in our purchasing contract to have 5 working appliances. And a washing machine that only grumbles doesn't qualify as "working" in my opinion.) So now we have $500 worth of repairs to pay for the car, which will put off a washing machine purchase. Sigh.

I found a job posting for Edmonton Public looking for teacher aides rather desperately and I really wish that I *could* go back to work. However, since I have not worked for the last 8-10 weeks that will factor into the 26 weeks that they look at when calculating how much maternity they will pay. So I am batting zero for working between now and when Peanut is born. Which sucks on so many levels and doesn't help to alleviate any of the stress that our little household is currently under.

And so it goes.

7:19 p.m. - 2004-03-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek