xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Peanut's Ultrasound

Baby movement has kicked into high gear.

Last week I went for my ultrasound and it went much smoother than my previous ultrasound experience. I dreaded the bloated, drank the ocean feeling that I had last time. You know the one that left me rocking on teh floor of the waiting room, in pure agony thinking that no fuzzy black and white picture of my baby was worth this aggravation? Yeah, that was what I remembered too. But since, in the end, it *did* end up being qorth it and more, I wasnt fighting too hard not to have a go this time around.

I chug-a-lugged all the required water and waddled off to the clinic where we were ushered into a smaller separate waiting area. Julia was in a bit of an anxious mood--perhaps she sensed that her time as centre of teh world was truly beginning to crumble. In any case, I felt absolutely fine, given the full-to-the-brim-and-then-some state that my baldder had to be in to optimize all pictures of the baby. I was led into a comfortably warm room with gentle Anne Geddes-ish pictures adorning the softly painted walls. It was difficult not to squirm about trying to figure out the hazy images that flashed across the small computer scren, or scrutinize the eyes of the ultrasound technician, looking for any flicker of worry or wrinkle of concern that might herald news of any abnormality. But there was nothing and I allowed myself to daydream and wander while she busied herself doing her thing.

I could hear Julia getting a bit anxious in the waiting area and should have known better than to leave the room, but when the tech told me that she didnt need my bladder tobe full anymore and gave me the opportunity to

go to the bathroom, I took it. Julia just happened to catch a glimpse of me just as I left the room and immediately wanted to join me, wondering, perhaps why I had abandoned her to the boredom of the waiting area. Of course I had to ignore her and go on my merry way and back again. Boy, did she shriek.

Finally the tech finished up her work. Whether or not she hustled things so that we could get Julia out sooner, I'll never know but we called them in and got the "tour" of my uterus. It was amazing, as always to see. Peanut was wiggling about, kicking and waving at us and generally being cute. I could see that the baby turned towards my back--where most of the kicking takes place these days. I couldnt believe the amount of movement that could come from such a tiny little bundle. Hubby, of course, was adoring and enraptured, even as he struggled to contain Julia. I dont think that Julia could make heads or tails of things and grew a bit disinterested in the whole process. We waited for the final picture to take home (a bit of a non-profile) and then it was over before I realized that it was.

Peanut has become quite a bit more active, if that was possible, given teh amount of movement that I was already experiencing. Days and nights now filled with the punching, rolling and kicking. On the upside, hubby has FINALLY felt Peanut, as the movements become less centralized on my back and have become more of an all-around, equal opportunity kind of free for all in there.

And so it goes...

11:43 a.m. - 2004-03-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek