xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Let the Sunshine In

There's something to be said for getting out of the house, opening the windows, putting things in their places and just feeling a bit more structured.

In the past two days, I've taken Julia on a field trip (on the bus! to the Mall!--and here's the most exciting part--to buy DISHSOAP! I know, life can't get much better, can it?) gone to organized the basement storage areas, cut back on movie watching, put her in her crib to cry it out and sleep, gone to the library to find new and exciitng things to read to her and for me, posted some ads looking for students to tutor, got some family portraits done by Paula, finished washing the dishes (with new dishsoap!) and gone to Rhymes that Bind. Which all these things might seem mundane and laundry list-ish, to me they are a sense of accomplishment and I am hoping a source of inspiration to continue to do things rather than react to things that are done.

I have decided that I need to structure my days with Julia a bit more--less Elmo, for one thing, and maybe start doing some crafts and things with her more often. I wonder if she is missing out on some things that she was/would have been exposed to in daycare and having a set routine would likely help her bedtime sleeping habits become more regulated. I have discovered a moms group that is closer to my house that runs every Tueday and I should take her there, if for no other reason than so that she can be around other children. She is losing a bit of her socialization skills being home with only me all the time and I find that she is less apt to get along with kids as easily nowadays. Of course she is also getting more aggressive in her independence so that is part of it too but I still wouold like to assure myself that she is getting all the benefits of being around people as possible.

I am just about to go pick up hubby from work and then I will decide if I will go to the tour music rehearsals. It will be nice to learn new fun music and to get a hug from some people tonight, so I am leaning towards going but we shall see what the next few hours bring.

The sun is shining, and despite the brief periods of snowy weather, i hope to see more of the sunshine in my life.

2:54 p.m. - 2004-03-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek