xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spring has Sprung

It's a bit disconcerting how much changes in the span of a few days. Suddenly, things are looking up and I am so much more relieved than I was.

I recently discovered that the government has been underpaying me (as in not paying me at all) since July 2003 the child tax benefits that I used to get. now I just had thought that I wasnt entitled to them anymore and that was why the checks stopped coming, but as it turns out they are just a bumnch of imcompetent fools who are hanging onto my money for no reason at all. So they owe me $1500, in addition to the Alberta Family Tax which has also been underpaying me (a conspiracy!) and owe me about $450. Plus I am getting a a few mnths worth of GST cheques that somehow werent paid to me either, to the tune of about $400. So all in all I have $2400 coming to me when the government decides that the time is ripe. How it alll became so tangled is a bit beyond me, as I have a direct deposit account set up with the government and have kept my addresses up to date as well. Oh well, so long as they are sending to to me, that is helpful! We are planning on paying off the last of my student loan (or at least a big chunk of it) so that we will have one less bill to worry about at the end of the month, and help pay off some of our looming Mastercard. We are almost in the red zone which isnt a comfortable place to be, let me tell you.

We have gotten the last of the forms needed for me to be able to file my taxes so on top of all the aforementioned money, hopefully I will have a nice tax return as well. Whew.

In other looking-up type news, I think that I have lined up some students to tutor in English on weekends so that wil also be helpful in getting me out of the house, giving me some time away from my housemom life (as it were) and bringin in some income to help pay off some of our debts. On top of this, I have persuaded my sister to apply for the teacher aide position that I wanted to apply for earlier with Edm Public. I have made a deal with her that if she makes, say $13/hr, she can pay me $5/hr to look after her kids and then she can take home the rest. That way, everyone is benefitting. After all, she has NEVER had a job in her life (well, she worked at Bata Shoes for a month once upon a time) and has three kids to boot. Where else is she going to get childcare so cheap?! It has never been an affordable option for her to work, until now, and she really needs the experience and the money. She has a job interview on Wednesday so we shall see how things go--both with her interview and with my having three more kids under the age of 5 in my house.

Also on the upside of things, we bought a washing machine on Thursday night. It was frightening how fast we could spend so much money in one place. Still, I am looking foward to being able to wash and dry our clothes in our own place. Clean laundry is a good thing :)

Change happens in the blink of an eye and I suppose that I should be used to it by now. It will be interesting to see what the next week will bring and how all the pieces that are falling into place actually take shape. Spring, it seems, has sprung.

6:44 p.m. - 2004-03-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek