xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back in the Saddle

I have three students lined up right now to be tutored in English, all in elementary grades, all looking for help with reading comprehension.

Maybe it was coincidence or maybe it's my old friend "Must-be-perfect" coming up but last night I could hardly sleep a wink for trying to lesson plan fun and enriching activities, sort out what they know from what they don't know and how best to boost them up from the level they are at to the level they would like to be. Now all of this is well and good, a sign of a good educator, one who cares about students and about doing a good job. The kicker? I haven't met them yet. I haven't talked with the parents, have no idea what types of things I can possibly need to know in order for such introspection to take place. Conclusion? I'm heading back into that burn out space that I had recently vacated in terms of teaching philosophies. Now the fact that I recognize it is happening at all is a bonus. I know myself and I know all the weaknesses that are become painfully apparent when I let myself get ahead of a situation. And now is the perfect opportunity to take it all in, process it a bit and let some ideals go.

I am getting excited, though, with the prospect of being with students again, of getting my hands into the literary teaching circle and trying out new techniques and to be honest, I really haven't taught reading comprehension to younger folk in so long I'm sure that it may take a bit to warm up to it myself.

There is a Literacy convention coming up in April (the 17th to be exact!) that i am looking forward to with all the nerdy enthusiasm that can be mustered through the haze of no sleep and I am sure that as the day draws nearer (and I have my full registration package in hand) it will become a full blown nerd fest around these parts.

Stay tuned, I know y'all can hardly wait.

7:31 p.m. - 2004-03-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek