xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Small Things

I just loaded laundry into our new washing machine. It's so nice to have somewhere to put laundry when it piles up! Who ever knew that i would get this much pleasure out of being able to do laundry?! Of course, staying home all the time means that i get more pleasure as it were from any number of mundane things. It's the small things, you know?

Julia has begun to drink out of a normal cup. She began to show an interest in a book that talks about saying goodbye to her bottles and saying hello to "big kid" things like cups. After reading and re-reading that book one day she began to ask for the lid of her sippy cups to come "off!" during dinner times. She actually is doing very well at it and its a bit disconcerting watching her step through babyhood and toddlerhood to become just another little girl so quickly. She can pedal her tricycle now and is beginning to talk about her potty again. Small things that lead to giant steps. Sigh.

I have met the students for one of the families I wil be working with--one boy in grade 4 and one boy in grade 6. I think that the older one is fine, is keen on doing a good job and is really trying to keep up with the program in school. In my opinion, he doesnt require much (or any) tutoring. His brother on the other hand, is a different story. One of the things that is keeping some parts of these boys back is their well-meaning but overwhelming mother. I am trying to encourage her to take a bit of a step back and we shall see what progresses. However, since I met them it looks as though we are going to be meeting more than the one day a week (and never on weekends due to their busy extracurricular activities) that i had originally thought and so i will likely not take on the other student (who was looking for 4 days of tutoring per week) because while I do want to be working some of the time, I do not want to be working all of the time. There is a potential for one more student on a weekend but no more than that.

So time shall see what pans out in terms of these boys. I am already going back to see them on Friday and I am needing to find a scope for where I am hoping to go with them.

Tonight, however, is tea and cookie making with canoegirl and boy am I ever excited by the prospect of that! Mmmmmcookies. Not to mention good company and tea!

Well i guess I ought to go plan some lessons or at least think about how I am going to progress with these students. Oh and find the things I need to bake with ;)

2:13 p.m. - 2004-03-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek