xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Weekend of People and Places

It was a long weekend for me. Well it felt like a long weekend anyway. Our road trip left (one person less than anticipated because of certain circumstances) around 4pm on Saturday. I had time that morning to play with Julia bunches before we left, cramming in cuddles and food before I left her for the first time ever overnight. I packed the last of my bags (and *still* managed to forget my toiletries, dammit), went for a milk and munchies run, and tidied up the house. I watched hubby clean out the garden and danced with my girl in the warm spring sun before my ride came.

The drive itself was uneventful, it was nice to be with the girls and to chat about random things and if I closed my eyes (and ignored the thumping that Peanut gace me every so often) I could swear it was as though nothing had ever changed. We pulled into Lloyd and found our hotel, getting mobbed in the lobby by silly weathergeek who called to see if we were there yet. The funny thing was that we stood right by his girl as we checked in. She is, BTW, quite the looker (you lucky dog) and introduced herself with a look of amusement. We ran into choristers checking into the hotel and mor hugging ensued, smiles wreathed in nine-day tiredness and hugs edged in last day excitement.

We found that we had more time than we had anticipated for dinner and on the advice of Gerry, one of the choir tour bus drivers, we took in a buffet dinner at another hotel. It was good, I was hungry and I ate. A lot. And then some. (And I wonder why I look like a house?) We made our way to the church and found seats in the balcony, settling in to enjoy the last last concert of tour that I will likely ever attend. Now, choir concerts are emotional. Last day of tour choir concerts are more so. And this last choir concert of tour in one's last year of tour meant that the waterworks were almost guaranteed. It didn't help that the program was rife with heart-tugging soppy wet nostalgia either. I was good. I felt allergic to one song (the cheesiest encore song EVER), sneezing all the way through it, and managed to reign myself in quite well. As did others, for the most part, and amidst the crush of hugs and such that are an integal part of the post concert experience, I was glad that I was able to make it.

I opted out of skit night, the prospect of sitting on cold hard floor for hours at a stretch after a couple hours in the car and more in hard church pews left me wanting the comfort of my pjs and a soft place to snuggle and talk. We ended up in weathergeeks room and enjoyed several hours of catching up and idle chitchat over warm fuzzies, cold pop and good pizza (yeah hungry again, surprise!). I found myself liking his girl more as the evening wore on, always inwardly marvelling at how alike they are, how well they suit one another and how I was so glad that he was happy with someone there in the sticks. It makes me glad to know that he isn't as lonely as he was.

For some reason, we all awoke before our alarm, giving us lots of time for leisurely lolling in bed, I joined Gwyn and K so they could experience the oddness of Peanut rolling around inside of me, and we woke up to the morning and the drive ahead of us. We called weathergeek and kl to see if they'd like to join us for breakfast and laughed at the hurried way they had woken up and had to rush to be out of the room for check out. We lindered over Timmy's and had just about given up on them coming when they rushed in the door, just in time to grab a coffee and a hug before hitting the long road home.

The drive was quicker than I thought it would be, even despite the mild cramp I had in my side during some of it. I got home to my girl who was playing in the yard and who was a bit shy around Gwyn and K when they came in to see my place. But her desire to be cudled by mama overcame her reluctance to be social and she clung to me like a fly on honey. The lack of sleep the night before hit me just as a sat down on the couch, trying in vain to watch "Elmo and Zoe's Jungle Animal ABC's" with Julia. Maybe it was the DVD, maybe I was just tired, either way, I was dead to the world within 15 minutes.

I awoke, still a bit groggy but pretty refreshed considering where I was sleeping, and got ready to have dinner with Romy (It felt somewhat like I'd had two mini days on Sunday, hence the long weekend-like feel). Julia didn't want to be separated from me but was so very tired that I had to just put her in her crib to cry to sleep just so she would have some semblance of normalcy. I was able to have a good chunk of time to visit and catch up with Romy before she awoke again and it was so good to see her, to hear the news and shoot the shit, and like all of our visits, no matter how little or how much time has lapsed between seeing one another, it always feels like slipping into the most confortable shoes, the softest embrace and the most vivid memories.

It was a weekend of people, of places, of old memories and new. It was getting back in touch with myself, reliving old feelings and freedoms and coming back home to the snuggles I have grown accustomed to. It was such a good decision to have gone, and I am glad that someone talked me into the idea rather than out of it because it was exactly what I needed.

6:02 p.m. - 2004-05-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek