xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Roller coaster of Pain

So sometime in the dead of night Howard was moved to Florida and though I know it is for the best, I am sorry that I didn�t take Julia to see him when she last begged to see the �elphin� at the mall.

Despite all the controversy that surrounded having the dolphins in the lagoon in the middle of a bustling mall, I was glad for the opportunities it presented for me, as a person who lives landlocked in a cold climate and as a parent raising a child in the same environment. I mean, where else would I be able to show Julia the wonders of an aquatic mammal like Howard. Seeing the excitement on her face as he floated past the plexiglass edges of his tank made me thankful for the educational experience of having him there. That said, I do believe he is better off with other dolphins, social creatures that they are, and in a climate that is much more suitable than indoor mall air.

In news closer to home, I have been having a heck of a weekend. A bit tossed up between having really good days and really awful ones. Friday and Saturday were rife with pain, limping, shooting yucky pain in places I didn't know pain could exist in. But we still made it out to Ethan's bday party which was a bit of a wake up call (his being one means that Julia's 2nd bday is approaching quicker than I had imagined) but fun, especially once Julia *acually* woke up and started to interact with Ethan, his toys and the pets of the house. Afterwards, we had dinner with my parents (in a non-Chinese restaurant, which shocked the hell out of my hubby, it being one of the few (first?) times since we started dating almost 6 years ago that we have done so) and it was surprisingly nice and relaxing.

On Sunday I awoke with a leg cramp so severe I was sitting up and screaming before I realized I was awake. Julia, poor girl, was merrily lying beside me having her morning bottle of milk when it happened. Needless to say, she was climbing the walls in surprise and fear that her mother had all of a sudden gone nuts in bed. Hubby was downstairs at the time and I was screaming his name, while at the same time trying to massage the cramp out of my leg and sobbing rather histerically. It was not a pretty sight, I'd imagine. He came up, thinking that julia had been bugging me and that he was to take her away. When he reached for her, I hollered at him, "not her! Me! me! My leg! Ohmigod!!!!!!!!!!!" he promptly dropped Julia back onto the bed and helped me try to calm down and relax. Julia, for her part, by now realized that I was in pain and crying, so she was patting my back, "mama? ok? hugs? awwwww" It was so cute! I was in so much pain! But I had to try to get it together to tell her that I was OK and that she absolutely could come and give me a kiss to make it all better.

I collected my wits about me and started to get ready for the day, since I was a bit afraid to go back to sleep lest the evil leg cramp reappear. Dwayne had taken Julia downstairs to change her and stuff so i puttered around upstairs puting laundry away and straightening up and i could hear Julia calling for him. I thought it was odd a bit because he had been the one taking care of her but I figureed that he must have gone to the bathroom and she was feeling left out of the whole process so I just brished it off. I came downstairs and found her wandering around with no clothes on and hubby nowhere in sight. She asked me, "Where Daddy?" and I responded "He was with you! Did you eat him?!" she just giggled. I got her dressed and fiddled around with her toys with her while we tried to puzzle it out. He walked in about 10 minutes later having gone to get breakfast for us since we all had such a sucky start to the day. Things got better from that point on, how could it not?

I had a little Tea and Talk with Ryan and Romy. Julia showed off for Ryan, and fell asleep for Romy. It was nice to be able to sit on my place and shoot the shit. I am guessing I will reinstate Tea and Talks sooner rather than later.

Girls' night was delightful--Julia having hammed it up earlier for Ryan, was in fine form. It was an interesting thing to see how girl's nights change when we used to have such nights of wild talks and giggle fests that have become 'Baby Einstein' watching, baby tossing fests instead. But, eventually, Julia obligingly fell asleep and it was like old times again.

Monday was back to pain central, but at least i didn't startle anyone else awake. Part of the problem is that Peanut has found a new little notch to nestle into--my right hip. Underneath my right hip bone to be precise. Miseries abound especially when i am lying on my right side and peanut is intent on burrowing under that hip. Lord. So sleep is not really very restful, which contributes to a whole host of other issues--like bitchiness and fatigue-induced dizziness. Sigh.

And so it goes.

12:54 p.m. - 2004-05-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek