xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Julia turns 2

As far as toddler parties go, I would say that Julia's second birthday was a big success. No one was injured, there wasnt a big catastrophy and I don't think that we forgot anything vital. Of course, there were some glitches, but what else can you expect when there are about 30 people crammed into a living room and backyeard as tiny as ours?

Sure I had a bit of trouble coping with the fact that people showed up 2 hours late to a 4 hour party, but then again, i am not the queen of prompt arrivals either so what can I say? I was just glad they came, had fun and ate the food that was here so we didn't have leftovers for weeks afterwards. I *almost* forgot to have cake, after the "alright everyone, gather around Julia's presents so we can watch her drink juice" debacle that was the opening of the presents. Mostly it was me opening her presents, but really how much longer will that go on in her life?? So we just went with it and I am still trying to sort it all out so I can get the thank you cards in the mail. Yet another thing on my "to do" list, don't you know.

I was glad for the people who came late and stayed later, for the chance to have some down time chatting with people I dont get to see very often and to show off my newly decorated bedroom to those who would ooh and ahh most appreciatively.

It was a gloriously nice day for having a BBQ and was glad for the sunshine to celebrate this milestone. I was glad for the distraction of thinking about how quickly two years has passed and how my baby now looks so much like a little girl that I can hardly remember the times that she fit in to the crook of my arm. I look at her now and smile, so filled with pride and overflowing with love, marvelling at how much things have changed since I brought her home from the hospital and how glad I am for it all.

Happy birthday, Julia Katherine. We are so blessed to have you here with us.

12:01 a.m. - 2004-06-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek