xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Two Years

I cant believe that it has been two years since my wedding day! It feels like a lifetime has passed in the blink of an eye, that dichotomy of having so much happen and yet have such sharp remembrances of past events.

I find it hard to think of my name without the Mrs. and yet I often respond to my maiden nickname without question or pause.

I think about how Julia was as small then as Elena is now and marvel at how alike they look and yet how different they are.

I think about how I was just getting used to having one child and now I am slowly adjusting to having two.

I think about the number of vehicles we have gone through (we're on #4!) in these past few years and how we are in the process of considering changing that again.

We went out for dinner tonight, one of my freinds so graciously offered to babysit so we could have a night out ;) I asked for a steak and Dwayne took me to the Outback Steakhouse, which was at once nice and gaudy all at the same time. In a way it personified all I spoke about already. We had a lengthy discussionabout where we wanted to be in 10 years, and how the last 10 years have passed so fast (wasnt I *just* 17??) there is no reason to think that the next 10 wont pass just as quickly (good lord, Julia would be 12 and I'll start having teenageers!!!).

We have a lot that we want to do yet, and I am so glad that these past few years have begun to open up worlds that we have been able to step into--car ownership, mortgages, parenting, careers) and yet I can still look into his eyes and see who I fell in love with. He still looks at me with tenderness, still tries to do things just around teh corner from the kids that make me giggle and still inspires me to be the best that I can be.

Bring it on, if 2 years can pass like that, I think that I am ready for more.

11:59 p.m. - 2004-10-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek