xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tsunami

The tsunami disaster that has hit Asia is taking my breath away.

I sit here, one moment worrying about the not so subtle smokiness that is creeping into my clothes, the next being bombarded by images of water washing away whole resort towns and small islands. It is unreal and overwhelming. The images of small children laid side by side as they mount up the dead crushes my heart. In only a few days since it happened the death toll has continued to rise in such an alarming rate and there is no small worry on my part that it has hit parts of Malaysia where my extended family is. I sit by the phone, trying to reach home to hear the news and feel relief when I hear that all are safe in our family.

The enormity of the situation I am sure, will not be known for days, weeks and even months from now, but I cuddle my girls a little bit closer to me, let them get away with things I might have been sharper about days ago and thank God for the health and safety of the ones I love around me. As we approach the new year, I know that I am truly blessed.

10:09 a.m. - 2004-12-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek