xeryfyn's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Whirlwind

Yay! I can finally add an entry. honestly, being locked out of being able to add entries when I finally got up the time and energy to write was frustrating as hell. Almost made me reach for a gold membership until i realized that I could post now without making my husband ballistic over yet another charge on the credit card we are trying to pay off. Sigh.

Anyway, it seems that there is a lot going on right now and most days I am in a type of zone where I can handle the stress of it all. But then somehow, I kept forgetting to take my meds and then it became an attempt to wean myself off and then I realized that I was right back on that edge where I started and immediately ran back to the fridge to count the number of pills I had left and to make an appointment to get a refill on the scipt. I guess there is a reason I didnt go to med school. You know, other that the fact that I am a complete moron with things like math and chemistry. And physics. And social studies too, really. OK, ok, I was hopeless at everything except English.

But I am OK with that because I can blissfully spend my free (hahaha) time playing this spelling game . Yes I am a big nerd. And I played the game until I was on the top 50. The nice thing about this game is that I can stop playing it while I tend to the kids who are being hooligans around me, and then go back to it as time allows. I hold the baby when I play sometimes and watching me participate in a spelling bee bores her right to sleep. What a parenting tool! Parenting for Nerds. I ought to patent it.

In between nerdy word games and skipping meds that make me less psychotic to be around, I casually watch as the miracle of my children's developments unfold around me. The somewhat alarming rate at which Elena has picked up the upwardly mobile crawling, want-to-be walking thing. Her ability to pick up minute pieces of paper and cram them in her mouth while maintaining an innocent look on her face in the 5 second window that takes place while I pry her sister's fingers from the cat's tail. The sentences that Julia now strings together that are full of wit and smarminess (what? she did *not* get it from me! wipe that smirk off your face): "Mom, I sweeeping de fwoor, ok? Its sooo swippery now. Good job Ju-ye-ya. Now i have some cherry ice-cream, pweeese???" Like I needed a household critic too.

Spring cleaning continues despite the fact that winter has re-arrived on our doorstep and I have been able to sort all of my school-related papers into one and a half (not the four alloted) file boxes. It is a bit scary to have gotten rid of so much and yet still feel so incredibly overwhelmed with stuff around me. I am starting to re-evaluate whether it is the stuff that is really getting to me or if it is a convenient excuse to displace my feelings of generalized angst.

I will devote entire entries to the other things I'd like to talk about:

(a)weddings, the ones that are coming up soon (Eeeek! I got the invite and am incredibly excited for the wedding!), heling to plan the centrepieces for SJ and the one unexpectedly awesome blip in my world of engaged friends.

(b)babies, the one that is about to be born in the next few weeks (yaaaaay I wont be the only one with two rugrats!) and the ones that will be coming in the end of summer realm.

And of course (c)B-Day which is coming up on Thursday. That is, Bottle Day, not birthday. Or more specifically, No Bottle Day. That's right folks, this Thursday we are getting rid of all the bottles in our house and are cutting Julia off cold turkey. Why Thursday? well D's got a 4 day long weekend because of Easter. So rather than having a torture session visit with my in-laws, we are opting to stay home and have a gong show here. I am dreading it and yet I know that it is time.

I suddenly feel like I am living in a grown-up kind of world and it is a bit bizarre and thrilling all at the same time.

Progress to be posted as I lose my sanity on other levels.

12:24 a.m. - 2005-03-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

SarahJanet
PrincessGwyn
Weathergeek
Canoegirl
drafrica
plaiddevil
fiery-ferret
horsegeek